My Experience With ZeroRB and Why it Doesn’t Work

Fantasy Football is a game not unlike chess in that owners are constantly looking for ways to out think each other. It’s not good enough to draft the best player available, you have to work the draft in a way that leaves you with a roster packed full of studs and sleepers.

In our quest for perfection, our draft stratagies have gone from basic to outlandish, as is evidenced by the snowball picking up steam that is Zero RB stratagies.

The argument is that in the first few rounds, you’re better served drafting a WR or QB due to a percieved lack of consistency out of the first two teirs of running backs. The idea that consistency is key rings true, but the idea that it can’t be from the RB position at the top is preposterous.

I’ll give you an example of when this same stratagy submarined my season:

Two years ago, I went into the draft having swung and missed on RB’s early the previous season. I saw the success teams with high profile WR’s and QB’s had and decided I wasn’t going to reach on a RB until I had my elite perfomers elsewhere.

Rounds 1-3 I drafted Julio Jones, Drew Brees, and Randall Cobb – all of whom were near the top of my “available player” ranks. My RB stable consisted of Lamar Miller, Montee Ball, and Le’Veon Bell… I thought I was a genius! Instead, injuries to my top two WR’s limited them to 500 yards or fewer and I tanked, finishing far in last place with very little value to my roster.

The problem with the Zero RB stratagy is that passing on RB in the first few rounds hamstrings you in the same way that over drafting RB’s early does: you’re too reliant on one position.

This is football, injuries and inconsistencies happen. The best way to avoid this is not through the ZeroRB thinking but through drafting a balanced offence and understanding how to work the middle rounds. No one wins a fantasy championship in the first two rounds, the win it with Odell Beckham in the 9th.

Posted on May 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

